One of the top causes of auto accidents in the country is distracted driving. According to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), distracted driving took the lives of 3,142 people in 2019. According to the CDC, in 2018, an estimated 400,000 were injured in crashes involving distracted drivers.
In 2020, Arkansas law enforcement joined forces with the NHTSA in a national operation called “U Drive. U Text. U Pay,” which includes both educational and enforcement operations designed to make streets and roads safe. The unified message is this – distracted drivers are not only a danger to themselves, but everyone operating a motor vehicle on roadways.
Be Aware of Arkansas Law
For drivers in the state who are 21 years old and older, talking on a cell phone while driving is still lawful, with the exception of school zones or work zones where workers are present. In these areas, only hands-free cell talking technology is acceptable.
Talking on cell phones while driving on Arkansas roads is prohibited for those under 18. This also includes hands-free devices. However, those between the age of 18 and 21 are allowed to use hands-free technology to speak on the phone, but using a handheld phone is still illegal.
These violations carry a fine of $25 to $250 for the first offense and $50 to $500 for a second or subsequent offense. All these fines are doubled when the driver is in a collision.
If you or a loved one have questions about an accident involving distracted driving or have been injured in an accident you believe was caused by distracted driving, call the law offices of Elliott Smith at 479-JUSTICE (587-8423).