Texting or talking on the phone while driving is one of the leading causes of auto accidents in the country. It’s officially known as “distracted driving” and, in Arkansas, it comes with a fine between $25 and $250 for the first offense and $50 to $500 for a subsequent offense. All these fines are doubled when the driver is in a collision.

However, these fines don’t stop some drivers from texting or talking while driving. It has been reported that distracted driving took the lives of over 3,000 people in 2020. According to the FCC, nine people are killed and more than 1,000 are injured every day in incidents reported as distraction-related crashes in the United States.

Teens and Texting While Driving

Teenage drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving in Arkansas; this also includes hands-free devices. It is important to remind young drivers of the dangers of distracted driving. It is equally important for adults to model good road safety while driving with their teenagers, this includes limiting or even eliminating cell phone use while driving — even though it is currently not against the law for drivers 21 years old and older to talk on their cell phones while driving (with the exception of school zones or work zones). But remember, young drivers will often pickup habits from their parents, so the best practice is to lead by example and never text or talk on the phone while driving.

Make sure new drivers know the dangers of texting while driving. As experienced drivers know, taking your eyes off the road, even for a few seconds, can cause a life-changing accident resulting in injury or even death.

If you or a loved one have questions about an accident involving a driver who was distracted by texting or talking on a cell phone, or if you have been injured in an accident you believe was caused by distracted driving, call the law offices of Elliott & Smith at 479-JUSTICE (587-8423).

© 2022 Elliott Smith Law

Site Designed By